Netflix and chill :D

I watched a brilliant film this morning on Netflix. No Country For Old Men, starring Josh Brolin, Tommy Lee Jones and Javier Bardem. I’ve heard of it before, but never got round to watching it. It’s been on my IMDB watchlist for years, along with 300 other films! A couple of guys at work recommended that I watch it, and I didn’t have work until 12pm so I thought why the hell not? I put the laptop on and spent the morning in bed watching the film. It was brilliant. The film and not having to get out of bed. It’s quite an old film. I’m sure most of you have seen it, but for those of you that haven’t, I’ll try remain spolier-free as possible. The film poses an interesting question straight off the bat. What would you do if you found a briefcase full of $2 million dollars? You would take it right? Well what if you found that briefcase at an aftermath of a drug deal gone wrong. I’m talking bodies everywhere, blood all over the place. Would you still take it? Well luckily for the audience Llewelyn Moss (Josh Brolin) does take the money. Well it would have been pretty boring if he hadn’t, right?

Llewelyn is a smart man though, so he runs away, because he knows people will be looking for the money. He even says in one scene “At what point do you stop looking for your $2 million dollars?” Well in this case until your dead. Very dead. Because unfortunately for him he has Anton Chigurh (Javier Bardem) chasing him. Anton is a one man wrecking machine. He has two interesting, yet deadly set of weapons. The first is a bolt compressor that’s hooked to a gas canister. In one scene he punctures this dude’s forehead clean through. I was like damn that must of hurt! Aside from that he uses it for opening door locks. A much less messy, and better use if you ask me. Then there is his shotgun, which has freakin’ huge silencer attached to it! I have never seen a weapon so awesome, and man does it do some damage. You lose count at how many people he wastes with this gun. Trouble is, the weapons are only just an add-on to the main problem, him. Anton is an absolute psychopath, with no remorse or feelings. He is brutal and kills without asking any questions. Javier Bardem plays him to utter perfection. The whole cast is fantastic but this is 100% Javier Bardem’s film. He steals the show with every scene he is in. It’s the sort of character that makes your skin crawl from just looking at him. He’s terrifying, but in a completely different way than you would imagine. It’s how he talks, how he walks and the mannerisms that make him the best thing about this film. You know I watch wrestling, so I see characters in films as the heel/face personas, as in good/bad. Well I love the bad guys more, and Anton is right up there with being one of the best I’ve seen yet. If you haven’t seen this film yet, I urge you to get on Netflix right now and watch it. Then come back and finish off my blog, wink wink.

What would I do if I found a briefcase full of $2 million dollars I here you ask? Well I would run speedy fast in the opposite direction. Get as far away from it as possible. You probably think I’m just saying that for the sake of it, but I’m not. For one, like in the film, I would be cautious of whose money it actually is. Yeah I would have an amazing time spending it, but not without it’s consequences. I would be looking over my shoulder every second of the day, for fear that someone knows I have it. It’s also potential drug money. What if that money was for an undercover police operation or something? The risks far outweigh the financial gain. I think I would feel the same no matter how much money it was. It’s not mine, nor was it ever meant to be. I would feel guilty for taking it, and worried about someone wanting it back. I would rather leave it where it was and try to win the lottery instead!

How good are lazy bed mornings though? A coffee would have completed it, but I couldn’t be bothered to go downstairs and make one. Too much effort. What I needed was someone to bring me one. Why don’t starbucks deliver coffee? I think they are missing out on very lucrative market here. I bet millions of people would get a coffee delivered if it was ever such a thing. I would. I love coffee, just as much as I love ale. I’ve gone full coffee enthusiast with the recent acquisition of an expresso machine. It’s the best invention ever. Proper bean coffee is just heaven, and so much cheaper than the ‘instant barista’ coffee. And with the use of the steamer, I can make Lattes, Cappuccinos, Hot Chocolate etc I love it. Well I love my girlfriend for buying it. It was birthday gift. There was me expecting a PS4, well a PS4 doesn’t make delicious coffee!

And with that, I’m signing off, catch you guys next week!

Leave a Reply

