2016 Superhero Movies: Part 2

Sorry about the cliffhanger ending in the last blog. Had no idea I had that much to say about superhero movies! Then again, I’m not surprised. I read comics (okay, only Deadpool) and I love films. So putting them together can only lead to one thing, lots of talking. Once you get me started there is no stopping me. Verbal diarrhoea is what they call it. I don’t like that saying though. It’s a disturbing image. I shouldn’t have to explain why. But I will anyway because it’s funny. The image that goes in my head is that a person (pooping), but through the mouth. Disgusting, right? Well you can’t say I didn’t warn you. Anyway best move on. Otherwise this 2016 Superheroes blog will end up being 3 parts! And I can’t do that to you guys. You put up with me enough as it is.

Now as with all good countdowns/lists, it’s best to recap. This is more for my benefit than yours, because my memory is a piece of s**t.  And after a quick IMDB search. So far, in release order, I have covered:

  • Deadpool
  • Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice
  • Captain America: Civil War

Huh, only three. Thought there were more. Bit pointless bullet-pointing them, but I haven’t used them in ages. I forgot how exciting they are! I hope that came across as sarcastic. If not let me know, and I’ll try making it more obvious next time. Right, let’s do this. The next Superhero awesome-ness to grace the screen will be X:Men: Apocalypse. This the sequel to the huge smash Days of Future Past.  Now how awesome was that film? It was like poetry in motion. Every scene made sense. People had their doubts. It’s a classic X:Men comic book after all. Fans were definitely going to voice their opinions. Thing is, for directors/writers, it’s so difficult to get the balance right. There is no way to please everyone. You will always have the split. But what I don’t get is when fans get super pissed before they have even seen the movie! That’s like me going in to a restaurant and complaining about the food before I’ve eaten it. It’s ridiculous. Judging something based on a casting choice or director is lazy. How do they know what it’s going to be like? Now I might forgive them if they can see the future, but my guess is that they can’t. So please stop! Or I’ll set Deadpool after you.

Although you can have a good gauge on how something will do based on what’s happened before it. I have two solid reasons why I’m excited for Apocalypse, and that’s First Class and Days of Future Past. Both outstanding X:Men films. Bryan Singer has turned the franchise around and made it relevant again. Bless that man. Someone give him a medal. No one thought it would be possible after the goddamn awful The Last Stand. Luckily it wasn’t the last stand for Bryan and the fans. Gotta love a movie pun, eh? Next on the list is a bit of a contentious one. Wikipedia believes Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out of the Shadows is a Superhero film.  I’m not so sure… Are they actually Superheroes?  They’re definitely heroes, but I wouldn’t call them super. They’re genetically mutated turtles who learn martial arts from a rat. Sorry wiki but I think you’re wrong on this one. Even if you weren’t, there isn’t a whole lot I could say because I never saw the first one. I might watch it one day. Maybe…

So skipping Turtles, the next film is Suicide Squad. And my thoughts are…Meh. I’m on the fence, just like I am with Batman v Superman. I will definitely see it. I could after all be wrong. It wouldn’t be the first time and it definitely won’t be the last. I guess I just wanted more from it. From way back when the pictures were released I thought they could have done a better job with the costumes. I know they’re trying to put their own spin on it, but this is Harley Quinn. She is AMAZING and a huge fan favorite. I don’t think the makers quite realized how popular a character she is. I do like Margot Robbie, I just don’t know if she is crazy enough to the standards of Harley. Time will soon tell on that. I do hope I’m wrong, because this film should be amazing. The director David Ayer has the brilliant End of Watch and just as brilliant Fury on his CV.

We’re fast approaching the finish line now with just two films left. I won’t be going in to a huge amount of detail. Not because I’m being lazy and want to go play video games. Although I am itching to play Pro Evo, but because there isn’t really a lot of information about them yet. The films are Gambit and Doctor Strange. I”m questioning Wiki again here because it says Gambit is this year. It doesn’t even have a director attached! That will be a world first, a film released without a director. They have the star though, Channing Tatum, and a few producers, but that’s it. The film will happen; I just doubt it will be this year.  Either way I’m looking forward to it. Channing is an interesting choice, but I can definitely see him in the role. Once we start seeing some promo art and photo’s we’ll definitely have a better idea of he’s right for it. That then leaves Doctor Strange. It’s last but certainly not least. What will be an unusual Marvel film, just like Guardians was. It’s going to open a lot more questions going forward, but if done well, it will definitely work. One thing that is obvious is that they’re on to a winner with Benedict Cumberbatch as Stephen Strange.  I think he’s perfect the role, especially after seeing recent promo photos of him in the costume. He really looks the part. I don’t know a great deal about the character, but interested to see how they do the sorcery/magic side of it. More intriguingly though is the fact they have a director known for his horror films. Most notably Sinister, one of the best horror films of recent years. So with that it’s definitely going to be a much darker marvel film than we’ve seen before. Bring it on is what I say!

And there you have it, this year’s superhero movies. We’re definitely spoilt this year!

Jeez. I’m exhausted. I feel like I’ve run a marathon. Time for some well-earned rest, catch you guys next week!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

