Well this has been a while…

Wow. It’s been a LONG time since I last wrote a post! Think it was early March, or something like that. I’m not sure why. I haven’t been especially busy or anything. I blame time. It’s going too quick! Nearly April already, what the hell? It doesn’t feel like this year has truly got going. It’s going too quick for its own good. I mean right now it feels more like mid-February as opposed to late March. Then again I’m probably just talking shite. I hate people who say it feels like 8pm, but it’s only 5pm and yet I’ve just done the exact thing myself. Oh dear. I think I’m losing the plot. I’ve been away from this for too long. This feels alien to me. Why am I talking to myself on a word document? Maybe my mind has been wiped by that stick thingy in Men in Black. Is there any way to get it back? Oh wait….what’s this? System restore? I’m gonna press it….here goes!

Ah that’s better. I know what I’m doing now. Sorry about that. So, how we all doing? Doing well? Achieved any goals so far this year? I have! I’ve gone and got myself a new job! Go me! I’ve been a Customer Advisor for 5 years now. I know that sounds like a long time and that’s because it is. It actually feels longer. I could quite easily double it and it still wouldn’t feel as long. I guess that’s what happens when you go down in to the hells of employment boredom. Nah I joke. It’s not been all that bad. It’s my first proper job so I do have some respect for it. There just comes a time when you have to move on. And that time was about 2 years ago. I was just too lazy to do anything about it. The problem with working full time is that you don’t want to spend what little social time left to search for jobs. It’s tedious. And half the time you have no idea what you’re looking for. You just browse hundreds and hundreds of pages to the point where every job you see looks and sounds the same. Obviously if you searched every day then you wouldn’t have so many to go through, but again, who wants to do that? I spend all day every day looking at a computer at work. Last thing I want to do is that again when I get home. This is where I think job minions would really come in handy. A little fellow to do all the hard work for you. It would be amazing! Every now and then he would just pop in and tell me if anything has come up. It would save so much time! I’m gonna look in to this…

So it turns out that the job minion idea has already be done. Just instead of a minion, it’s an email. There goes yet another idea! So yeah anyway I wanted a new job, I just didn’t want to do anything about it. I was comfortable. The job isn’t difficult. I get on really well with my colleagues and get to have a laugh every day. What more could you want? It’s probably why, sub-consciously, I’ve been there for as long as I have. And in two weeks it will all be over. It feels weird. I don’t think it’s fully hit me yet that I’m leaving. I play it off quite easily but it’s definitely going to be sadder than I first thought. And also quite scary. A new office. New manager. New colleagues. AHHHH! I’m really looking forward to starting and at the same time I’m really not. Because it’s hard to be the real you around people you haven’t met. It takes time to build up friendships and for the personality to start coming out. So I guess I will be a little reserved at first. But then it’s all new to me so isn’t that just a natural reaction? Am I over-thinking it? I think I am. I’m a very down to earth person and can get on with pretty much anyone. I guess there’s just that niggling what if? In the back of my head. What if I don’t like the job? What if I don’t get on with my colleagues? What if I fall over on my first day because I’m a clumsy idiot?

These are all things that were going through my head when I was searching for jobs. And in a way it probably put me off applying for them. But they’re questions that are impossible to answer. You can’t assume any of them. At the end of the day it’s a risk that you need to take. Sometimes you have to go out of your comfort zone and do something you wouldn’t normally do. That’s life really. If you don’t take risks then you’re never going to know change. And change is nowhere near as bad as people make out to be. A new job is the next chapter in my life. It could be good or it could be bad. But regardless of what it is, the page still turns. Life still goes on. One thing leads to another. If it doesn’t work out then you just change again until you’re happy where the story is going. It’s pretty simple really. Oh and when I say risk, I mean a logical one. I don’t mean jump from one building to another on a scooter, or wrestle an anaconda with one arm tied behind your back. It just wouldn’t end well.

That’s all from me!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

