…Cornwall Holiday

Is it me, or does Christmas get hyped up earlier each year? Because there is someone who lives on my street who already has their Christmas lights up! It’s barely October! I don’t get it. Christmas decorations should go up in December, end of. I know it’s a huge debate (apparently) but that’s what my parents have always done. Even though they have probably used the same decorations since the day I was born. That makes them at least 27 years old, and then some. Then again I don’t really think you need many decorations. People take it way too seriously. And spend ridiculous amounts of money, time and effort on them. We’ve all seen the videos on Youtube with the lightshows synced to a song. Yeah it’s cool, but only for like a minute. Then it’s like this person has way too much time on their hands. And of course competition is a big part of it. It’s mostly between neighbours themselves, constantly wanting to out do each other. This happens mostly in America though. Some of them even make the local news channel! And get awards and stuff. Madness.

Anyway, enough of Christmas talk. I’d thought on this post I would bore you all with my time in Cornwall. I went there a couple of weeks ago with my girlfriend. We spent in a week in a bungalow in the beautiful village of Delabole. The view is amazing. It overlooks acres of farmland, fields, hills and the odd sheep. I’ve never seen so many different shades of green! And it’s so quiet. I stayed in the same place two years ago with a friends step family and instantly fell in love with the place. It was one of the many reasons why I wanted to go back. The fact it’s very reasonable in price certainly helped. I didn’t know how hard it would be to afford a holiday after moving out. It was so easy before, when I was living at home. Now it’s a chore trying to find a decent holiday abroad, that’s not some shack in the middle of nowhere. And Brexit certainly didn’t help. The prices definitely went up and it just became impossible finding a bargain. So in the end we decided on a holiday here in the UK. There are loads of places to choose from, but for everything combined, Cornwall was the perfect choice. The bungalow is in a perfect location, and right in the middle of the touristy spots and beaches. Everywhere is a 5 minute drive if not less. And as I’ve said before, me and my girlfriend are not sunbathers. A coastal holiday is perfect. You can’t beat walking along the coastline, taking in the amazing views of the sea and cliffs. And it’s free! Free suits everyone, doesn’t it? All you have to do is make up some sandwiches and a drink, then boom, a picnic by the coast. What could possibly beat that?

It goes without saying I had a few Cornish pasties! It’s like the law when you go to Cornwall. It’s the same as when you go to Ireland, you have to have a pint of Guinness! Even if you don’t like it. But everyone loves a pasty! I knew it wouldn’t take long before I started talking about food. Food is life after all. We ate out a lot more than what we should have done to be honest. But when you’re walking past all these fancy cafes and restaurants, it’s really hard to stay away! Don’t get me wrong we love to cook, but when you’re on holiday it’s just nice to let someone else do the cooking for you. And I definitely prefer trying new restaurant’s, as opposed to ‘buffet style’ in hotels, because that gets boring very quickly. The week’s stay mostly consisted of walking and eating. The weather could have been better, but September in the UK is always the unknown. And in Cornwall, everywhere still looks amazing even in the rain. So all in all it was a great week. It’s nice to get away from the stresses of everyday life for a week. Although I wish I could say the ride home wasn’t stressful! A journey that should have taken 5 hours normal traffic took 8 hours! Basically a working day of driving. But Starbucks came to the rescue more than once that day, thank god for motorway services!

So there you go, my week in Cornwall. Other than that there’s not much else to report on. I went to see Don’t Breathe at the cinema and it’s amazing! I 100% recommend that you all see it. I won’t do a review or anything because it’s one of them films where the less you know about it the better. Tomorrow I’m going to watch Blair Witch, which sadly I’ve heard hasn’t done as well. But I’ll see, could be good. What’s more interesting is that it’s a 4DX showing! I’ll let you know how that goes next week!

Until then, stay safe.

Leave a Reply

